Edith Nesbit

Edith Nesbit was an English author who lived from 1858 to 1924. She wrote many stories and novels for children, some of which have been adapted for film and television. She was the first person to write books about magical things happening in the everyday world. Many writers have followed in her footsteps, including J.K. Rowling, the author of the Harry Potter series, who said that Edith Nesbit was the children's writer with whom she could most identify.

It is said that when Edith was young she was a tomboy, and when she grew up she did not like to follow fashions. Apart from writing, she was also interested in politics, and she had many famous friends including H.G. Wells.

Works by Edith Nesbit

Currently available from Books for Learning is Nesbit's famous story The Railway Children, edited for children aged eleven and above.

Her other works include:

  • The Complete book of Dragons
  • The Magic City
  • The Story of the Treasure Seekers
  • The Wouldbegoods
  • The Five Children and It
  • The Phoenix and the Carpet
  • The New Treasure Seekers
  • The Story of the Amulet
  • The Enchanted Castle
  • The house of Arden
  • Harding's Luck
  • Wet Magic